Feast of Passover: April 18

         Feast of Unleavened Bread: April 19-25

         Feast of Pentecost: June 9

         Youth Camp: June 10-14

         Feast of Trumpets: September 28

         Day of Atonement:   October 7

         Feast of Tabernacles:  October 12-18

         Last Great Day:  October 19




         Feast of Passover: April 6

         Feast of Unleavened Bread: April 7-13

         Feast of Pentecost: May 31

         Youth Camp: to be announced

         Feast of Trumpets: September 17

         Day of Atonement: September 26

         Feast of Tabernacles: October 1-7

         Last Great Day: October 8

Sabbath, New Moons and Feasts of the Lord


1)  Biblically, a full day is observed from evening to evening. The Sabbath or seventh day begins at sunset of the sixth day, called the day of preparation. (Genesis 2:2-3, Exodus 20:8-11, 23:12, Deuteronomy 5:12-15).


2)   The New Moons begin with the “Astronomical” New Moon or dark of the moon, closest to the Vernal Equinox, marked with blowing trumpets. (Genesis 1:14, Exodus 12:2, Numbers 10:10, Psalms 81:1-4). The Bible year begins in the month of Abib, about two weeks before the barley harvest. (Exodus 13:4).



3)   As descendents of biblical Israelites, chosen seed of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, we are commanded to keep God’s biblical feasts. (Exodus 12:14-17, Leviticus 23:1-44, Deuteronomy 16:1-17). The Feasts of the Lord or festivals are commanded by the LORD to be kept “as a statute forever, throughout your generations in all your dwellings.” (Leviticus 23:14,21, 31, 41).



A)   The day of the Passover is on the 14th day of the first month, Abib (Exodus 12:1-8). Abib often occurs in modern April, and precedes the Feast of Unleavened Bread, a week-long festival beginning on the 15th of Abib, which is on or near the Full Moon, and ends on the 21st day of Abib. (Leviticus 23:4-14).


B)   The feast of Pentecost is always on a Sunday, the 50th day counting seven Sabbaths from the Sabbath that occurs during the Feast of Unleavened Bread. (Leviticus 23:15-16).


C)   The Day of Trumpets begins on the first day of the seventh month from Abib or the 1st of Ethanim. This is the “Astronomical” New Moon of the seventh month usually around our September. The Day of Atonement comes on the 10th day, with the Feast of Tabernacles beginning on the 15th day of Ethanim, very near the Full Moon, ending on the 22nd the Great and last day. (Leviticus 23:22-44).


         We believe that the Bible is one continuous book that includes the Old and New Testaments written to the same Israel people who were given laws to obey called God’s Law. We believe the Bible teaches the laws of the Old Testament were not nailed to the Cross by Christ but continue on into the New Testament. For example, Jesus taught the people in the sermon on the mount: “Think not that I am come to destroy the law or the prophets; I am not come to destroy, but to fulfill” (Matthew 5:17). Jesus fulfilled, brought to completion, the law of blood sacrifice of animals by being that “lamb without blemish and without spot” (1 Peter 2:19). “For it is not possible that the blood of bulls and of goats should take away sins” (Hebrews 10:4). What was nailed to the cross was the record God held against Christians who are now justified by the Atonement of Christ (Romans 5:6-11). Further, Christians by Christ’s Atonement on the cross are “redeemed from the curse of the law” (Galatians 3:13).


          The feasts of the Bible are part of the law of God and were first introduced in the Old Testament and are mentioned several times in the New. Leviticus 23 would be a key chapter that discusses the seven Feasts of God. Exodus 12, Deuteronomy 16 and Numbers 28 also contain festival language. All seven feasts are found in Leviticus 23 which is the most complete chapter in the Bible about them. All seven feasts are to be celebrated forever. For example, Passover is “for ever” (Exodus 12:14). Feast of unleavened bread is “for ever” (Exodus 12:17; Leviticus 23:14)). The seven-day feast of unleavened bread contains within it one additional feast which is the wave sheaf offering of the first fruits of the harvest (Leviticus 23:9). This was to be done on the “marrow after the sabbath” (Leviticus 23:11) which is always a Sunday. This offering prefigures the resurrection of Christ. Pentecost is a statute “for ever” (Leviticus 23:21) and is to celebrate the coming of the Holy Spirit. In the Autumn season there is the feast of Trumpets which celebrates the coming of the Jesus the second time, followed by the Day of Atonement and the festival season closes out with a eight-day Tabernacles that celebrates the birth of Christ who tabernacled with his people (John 1:14). All festivals are to be celebrated every year by God’s Israel people.


          St. Paul, following in the pathway of Jesus, affirms the continuation of God’s law in the New Testament when he said: “Do we then make void the law through faith? God forbid: yea, we establish the law” (Romans 3:31). Proof of the truth of this statement, as concerning the feasts of God, are noted by feasts being mentioned in the New Testament nine times, following the resurrection of Christ.


          1) Pentecost (Acts 2:1)

          2) Unleavened bread (Acts 12:3, 4)

          3) Feast not named (Acts 18:21)

          4) Unleavened bread (Acts 20:6)

          5) Pentecost (Acts 20:16)

          6) Atonement (“fast” Acts 27:9)

          7) Passover (1 Corinthians 5:8)

          8) Pentecost (1 Corinthians 16:8)

          9) All feasts (“holyday” Colossians 2:16)






Scroll to the bottom of the home page to learn about upcoming events and to find new updates!

Contact Us:

Church of Israel

3161 S. 2275 Rd.
Schell City, MO 64783

Email: coi@churchofisrael.org


Phone: 417-432-3119






Print Print | Sitemap
© Church of Israel